The Rules of Punctuation (Live)

Everything You Need to Know About Punctuation

  Enroll in Course

This is a LIVE course with Margie.

The class will meet for 20 hours over the course of ten sessions meeting on Saturdays and Sundays. Check the schedule below.

Course Description

Congratulations on making the decision to further your journey into the English language. This course is the alternative to the “hit and miss” hour or two that we tend to get during conventions. Though there is value in any class that deals with the rules of punctuation, rather than a comma rule or two here and a little instruction on where to put the dash in relation to quotes, the goal of this class is to offer a more in-depth look at the rules we use to punctuate.

In this 20-hour class, we will begin with a look at clauses -- how they work and how to punctuate them. We will move to the period, the question mark, and the quotation mark and then on to the colon, the dash, and the semicolon. We will wind up with the plethora of comma rules that haunt our days and nights. As we go, we may mix in a look at number form, the hyphen, the apostrophe, and even a little capitalization – and, of course, there will always be time for questions.

This is a rare chance to look at the overall picture of the rules that govern how we punctuate the spoken word and see how these elements and rules work together and interrelate -- a crucial class for every reporter, scopist, proofreader, teacher, and student. As a matter of fact, every person who deals with the language would benefit from this class.

Class Meetings

We are offering two ways for you to take this class:

LIVE: If you need CEUs and wish to ask questions as a session proceeds, the course is offered "live" online, that is, with all participants in the sessions at the same time, having the chance to interact during the sessions. Once a session is completed, a recording of that session will be posted, which can be listened to any number of times and which will be available for one month after the class concludes.

RECORDED: If you do not need CEUs and wish to listen on your own schedule, by all means, choose this option. The recordings from the live class will be posted, and you can listen to them at your leisure as many times as you like.

The recordings will be available for one month after the conclusion of the course.


Course Dates and Times

March 7, 13, 14, 21, 27

April 10, 11, 18, 24, 25

Please note that these times may have changed from those of prior classes with Margie Holds Class.

SATURDAY TIMES

9:00 A.M. to 11:00 A.M. Pacific

10:00 A.M. to 12:00 P.M. Mountain

11:00 A.M. to 1:00 P.M. Central

12:00 P.M. to 2:00 P.M. Eastern

SUNDAY TIMES

1:00 P.M. to 3:00 P.M. Pacific

2:00 P.M. to 4:00 P.M. Mountain

3:00 P.M. to 5:00 P.M. Central

4:00 P.M. to 6:00 P.M. Eastern


CEU CREDITS

The course is a total of 2.0 CEUs, divided into ten two-hour sessions. Completion certificates will be issued. These certificates may be used for credits for national, state, or any other organization. (Understand that fees may be required by the organization for the filing.)

If you cannot attend a session and wish to receive CEUs, you must listen to the recording and write a detailed summary of the content to submit for credit. This summary must be submitted within two weeks of the live session. This option is available for no more than three of the ten sessions.

If there are extenuating circumstances, please talk with Margie.


SUPPORT

If you have any questions prior to the start of the class, please email me at [email protected].

Please send any technical or web-related issues to our support team via the green "Support" button at the bottom right of your screen.


Your Instructor


Margie Wakeman Wells
Margie Wakeman Wells

Margie Wakeman Wells is a lifetime credentialed teacher in the state of California and is certified as a CRI. She is in her sixth decade of teaching -- with 40 of those years in the field of court reporting. As a reporting instructor, she has taught from the theory level through the exit speeds as well as all manner of English courses – both on campus in a bricks and mortar school and online.

She has presented, under the auspices of NCRA and state court reporting organizations, over 300 seminars for reporters on English-related topics as well as seminars for teachers and students.

Court Reporting: Bad Grammar/Good Punctuation, her best-selling reference text, and the workbook that accompanies it are available at margieholdscourt.com. In addition, she has published Word Pares, Pears, Pairs, a reference work of 2,000 word pairs with definitions, examples, and idioms for the words, and is currently writing a grammar text. She has also written a drill book series for improving accuracy: Practice Really DOES Make Perfect.

Margie operates “Margie Holds Class,” her online school, for both live and recorded classes and writes her blog, “All Things English,” at margieholdscourt.com. Margie currently serves as the Education Liaison for the California Court Reporters Association.

Margie has two grown sons and lives with her husband, Bill, in Culver City, California.


Don't need CEUs? Looking for just the recorded sessions?

Enroll in the discounted version of this course.

Recorded-Only Course

Get 10 percent OFF this course! Join Margie Rules!

  • Access to a private Facebook group, “Margie Rules,” where you can ask Margie questions and interact with fellow subscribers
  • Early access to monthly FREE courses
  • FREE monthly Q&A session LIVE online with Margie
  • 10 percent OFF all Margie products (online courses, books, webinars)

Join now

Already a student?

Log in to your account

Get started now!